Not Srilanka But This Nation Will Host Asia Cup 2022, Confirms Sourav Ganguly

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly announced Asia Cup, which was scheduled to be hosted by Sri Lanka this year, will be shifted to UAE. The tournament will be played in T20 format from 27 August to 11 September. The decision was taken considering that UAE would be the only place where rain would not affect scheduled matches, as told by the BCCI head.

The shift was announced after Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said in a letter sent to Asian Cricket Council informing them about their inability to host this yearโ€™s Asia Cup on Sri Lankan soil due to the ongoing economic and political crisis. Earlier Sri Lanka Cricket also postponed the third edition of the Lanka Premier League due to the same reason.

Sri Lanka is currently playing a two-match Test series against Pakistan after hosting Australia in a full-fledged white-ball and Test series. Notably, the political and economic tensions forced the second Test match between Pakistan and Sri Lanka to be moved from Colombo to Galle. The Indian women’s cricket squad also participated in a white-ball series there earlier this month.

While addressing the NDTV media after BCCIโ€™s apex council meeting, Sourav Ganguly said, โ€œThe Asia Cup will start in the UAE because this is the only place in this season where it will not rain.”

As we know, the Sri Lanka Board refuses to host this cup due to the economic crisis in their company. This year it is the turn of Sri Lanka but due to all these emergency conditions they are not able to host this event, and there is the option of Bangladesh, India but UAE is final now.โ€

Asia Cup 2022 had already seen two postponements, the first due to COVID-19 in 2020 and the second in 2021. 20-over tournament qualification for the Asia Cup is expected to begin on August 24, 2022. The full schedule is yet to be released. The event will include six teams: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and one qualifier.

The Qualifier will include competition from Hong Kong, Kuwait, Singapore, and the UAE. The winner of the Qualifier will join the five Full-Member Asian nations.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles