Not Shubman, Not Virat, Ricky Ponting Named This Star Player As The X-Factor Of The Indian Team In WTC Final

The World Test Championship Final will be played at the Oval in England from June 7th, 2023. The team of India and Australia will be face-to-face in the final match. The squads of both teams have also been announced.

India’s two veterans, KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant are already out of this tournament. After Rahul’s injury, Ishan Kishan was added to the team.

Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting said something special about Ishan Kishan for the upcoming prestigious tournament. Talking to a media house, Ricky stated Ishan would be the X-factor for the Indian team in the WTC final against Kangaroos.

While talking on Star Sports, Ricky Ponting said, “An X-factor player of the Indian team, Ishan Kishan got his form back. He will prove to be important in the final match. If you see him batting, you will understand that he bats like Rishabh Pant. He also can bat in the middle order.”

Ponting further said, “India has a great chance to win. Australia would also like to do something similar. I would have said Australia would win if the final were in Australia. If I were in India, I would have said India would win. But this Oval is in England. Anything can happen here.”

As per the recent reports, the first batch will take off on May 23rd, soon after the conclusion of the league stage of the IPL. The second batch will leave for England after the completion of qualifier matches on May 23 and 24. The final lot of players will depart on May 30th, after the conclusion of the IPL final 2023, which will be played at Narendra Modi Stadium on May 28th.

India Squad for WTC Final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishan Kishan, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat

Australia Squad for WTC Final: Pat Cummins (Captain), Steve Smith (VC), David Warner, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Matthew Renshaw, Marcus Harris, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Cameron Green, Mitchell Marsh, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, and Todd Murphy

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles