New Zealand’s Pacer Surpassed Shakib Al Hasan To Become Highest Wicket Taker In The History Of T20Is

On Saturday, 29th October, New Zealand’s fast bowler Tim Southee became the leading wicket-taker in T20Is. The veteran bowler of blackcaps accomplished this achievement playing against Sri Lanka when he dismissed Sri-Lankan opener Pathum Nishanka on duck in the very first over of the match.

Now, Tim Southee sealed the first position, and he has 126 wickets in 100 innings of 102 T20I matches. On the second position, Bangladeshi veteran all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has 125 wickets in 104 innings of 106 matches and Afghanistani leg-spinner Rashid Khan is placed on third spot with 119 wickets in 72 matches to his name, and the former pacer of Sri Lanka, Lasith Malinga, is on the fourth position with 107 wickets in 83 innings. Another New Zealand’s bowler Ish Sodhi is placed on fifth spot in this list with 104 wickets in 81 innings of 83 matches.

In the morning, Blackcaps players came on the field with the thought of winning the match that would make a smooth path for them in the Semis. Earlier, New Zealand’s skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat first, but his decision was not worth it, and they lost their 3 wickets on just 15 runs. But the partnership between Glenn Phillips and Daryl Mitchell of 84 runs helped New Zealand to stabilize their inning.

Right-handed batter Glenn Phillips scored 104 off 64 balls with the help of 10 fours and 4 sixes, helped New Zealand to set the massive total of 167 runs on the board on a low bouncy track.
With this century, Glenn Phillips became the second batter for the New Zealand team to score a hundred in the T20 World Cup after Brendon McCullum.

Also Read: Indian 2007 T20 Champion Team Coach, Who has Changed Zimbabwe Cricket

In reply, the Sri Lankan player’s performance was lousy, and they lost their 4 wickets on 24 runs in the power play. None of the Sri Lankan batters performances were effective in this encounter, against the world’s best bowling lineup. And only two batters Bhanuka Rajapaksa and skipper Dasun Shanaka scored in the double figure. Sri-Lankan was all out on just 102 runs in 19.2 overs and lost the match by 65 runs.
Trent Boult took 4 wickets from New Zealand, while Mitchell Santner and Ish Shodhi picked 2-2 wickets each, and Tim Southee and Lockie Ferguson have 1-1 wickets each. Centurian of the game, Glenn Philip, was awarded “Player of the Match”.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles