New Zealand Repeats The 146-Year-Old History In The Historic Match Against England

The most classy format of cricket is the test cricket, and the excitement of the Test never ends, and it is again proven in the second Test played in Wellington between New Zealand and England. The Kiwi team defeated England by only 1 run on the fifth and last day of the second Test match. With this victory, New Zealand levelled the two-match series against England at 1-1.

In the second Test played in Wellington, England batted first and declared their first innings at a score of 435/8. In response, New Zealand were all out for 209 in their first innings and were forced by the English team to play the follow-on. New Zealand were all out for 483 in their second innings, leaving England with a target of 258 to win.

Chasing the target, Ben Stokes & Co. got all out for 256 runs and lost the match by 1 run. The hero of New Zealand’s victory was Neil Wagner, who took 4/62 in 15.2 overs. Skipper Tim Southee took three wickets. Matt Henry got two wickets in his bag.

England won the first test match by a huge margin of 267 runs, and now the Kiwi team have taken their revenge by defeating them with 1 run. And with this win, many shocking records were made. This is the second time in Test cricket history when a team won the match by 1 run. About 30 years ago, it was the first time in Test history that a 1-run victory was recorded. Then West Indies defeated Australia by 1 run on 23 January 1993 in Adelaide. History has repeated itself after 30 years.

New Zealand have maintained their excellent Test record at home. Since 2017, the New Zealand team has been unbeaten in 11 series at home. No team has been able to defeat New Zealand at home since the 11 series.

This is the fourth time in Test cricket that the team has won the match while playing the follow-on. New Zealand have won after playing the follow-on. First, it happened in 1894, when England defeated Australia by 10 runs after following on. Then in 1981, England beat Australia by 18 runs after following on. In 2001, India defeated Australia by a massive margin of 171 runs.

IPL 2023: Who Will Join DC As Rishabh Pant’s Replacement, Director Sourav Ganguly Gives An Update

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles