MS Dhoni’s 2011 World Cup Winning Six Will Be Given Special Regard From MCA At Wankhede

Indian team won the final against Sri Lanka on 2nd April 2011 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. It’s been 12 years since India’s 2011 World Cup win. They won the World Cup after 28 years. The last win was in 1983.

In 2011, Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni hit a winning six against the Lankan team. Now, that six will be given special regard. The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) has decided that a victory memorial will be built at the spot where Dhoni’s six fell.

Mumbai Cricket Association President Amol Kale told the news agency, “Today, the MCA Apex Council has decided to build a small Victory Memorial at the Wankhede Stadium to commemorate the 2011 World Cup victory.” It will be built at the spot where MS Dhoni’s historic winning six hits.

The MCA president further said, “On Tuesday (4th April), we will approach Mahendra Singh Dhoni regarding this. We will ask Dhoni for time to inaugurate the Victory Memorial. MCA hopes that it will be inaugurated by Dhoni when he is in Mumbai for the match against Mumbai Indians on 8th April.

Amol Kal further said that the date is yet to be finalized as it would entirely depend on Dhoni’s consent and availability. MCA will also felicitate Dhoni when he inaugurates the World Cup Victory Memorial at the Wankhede Stadium.

IPL 2023: Rohit Sharma Or Virat Kohli, Who Will Score More Runs? Ravi Shastri Picks A Name

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles