Harmanpreet Kaur Surpassed MS Dhoni, Creates Record For The Most Wins As Captain

On the day 3 of Commonwealth Games 2022, Indian Women’s Cricket Team Beat the arch rivals Pakistan by 8 wickets in a rain interrupted match.

In this match, Indian women’s captain Harmanpreet surpassed former men’s Indian captain MS Dhoni in terms of winning most T20I as Indian skipper. Now with 42 wins,Harmanpreet Kaur has the record of the most wins.

MS Dhoni, the man who guided Team India to the inaugural T20 World Cup trophy played in the year 2007 has won 41 T20I matches as captain in his captaincy career. Under his leadership, Indian have played a total of 72 matches with a decent win percentage. After him, Virat Kohli has served India in 50 matches as captain, winning 30 and losing 16.

In the Birmingham Commonwealth Games, India lost its first encounter against Australia. In the match against Australians, India looked in a comfortable situation but they were out washed by 3 wickets at the last.

The game against Pakistan was played at Edgbaston. The match was reduced to 18 overs per side due to rain. In this match, Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first. However the Pakistan’s batter did not capitalise their potential and they were bowled out on 99 runs in 18 overs.

India chased down the target in just 11.4 overs, thanks to the superb batting display by opener Smriti Mandhana. She smashed 63 runs in just 42 balls with the help of 8 fours and 3 sixes. Her partner Shafali Verma scored 16 runs in balls.

India is going very well in the Commonwealth Games 2022. Till now they have won 6 medals, out of which three are gold medals.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles