Exclusive – BCCI Announces 15-Member Squad For ODI World Cup, No Place For Chahal, Samson

BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the ICC ODI World Cup set to happen in India. The selection committee has named the 15 players during a press conference in the presence of BCCI officials. KL Rahul has been included in the team, while Sanju Samson did not find a place for him.

The chairman of the selection committee, Ajit Agarkar, traveled to Sri Lanka and held a meeting with Indian captain Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid to finalize the squad. This meeting occurred after the India vs. Pakistan Asia Cup match in Kandy, which was called off due to rain after the completion of the first innings.

Apart from Sanju Samson, the speedster Prasidh Krishna and young Tilak Varma did not find a place in the squad. Ishan Kishan who is batting superbly these days has got a place in the team. The batter smashed a fifty in the first match of team India against Pakistan.

The batting lineup is full of stars, where Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill will open the innings. Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar will take care of the middle-order. The selection committee has also included four of their prime all-rounders Hardik Pandya, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, and Ravindra Jadeja to ensure a depth in batting.

In the bowling department, Kuldeep Yadav is the frontline spinner with Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Mohammed Shami leading the pace attack.

“One minor injury, you will play IPL but not for India”: Kapil Dev’s Scathing Attack At Indian Star Player

India will play its first match on October 8 against Australia at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. Before it, the tournament will kick in on October 5 where the last edition’s finalists New Zealand and England will clash each other at Narendra Modi Stadium.

Team India Squad For ODI World Cup 2023:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles