Exciting Cricket Action: BCCI’s Women’s Red-Ball Zonal Tournament in Pune

The board of cricket control in India is one of the most prominent boards in the cricketing world.

After earning praise for paving the way for women’s cricket in the form of the Women’s Premier League (WPL),. BCCI is now planning to create a red-ball tournament for women’s cricket.

The cricket board is planning to organize a six-team red ball zonal tournament in Pune to give a taste of multi-day format to women’s cricketers across the country.
The tournament will have six teams divided into zones like West, North, South,East, Central, and North East.

The tournament is going to get underway on March 29, with the quarters to be contested on March 29, 30, and 31.

The winners of the first round automatically go to the next round, i.e., the semi-finals which are likely to be played on April 5–7. 

The schedule has been designed in such a way that it keeps the ongoing WPl season in mind, whose final is set to be played on March 17 in New Delhi at Arun Jaitley Stadium.

There’s an 11-day break between both tournaments to ensure that both state and international players get enough time to rest and get ready for the red ball battle.

On the other hand, the second season of the WPL has started on a fantastic note. RCB,Delhi Capitals, and Mumbai Indians have won two games and are in the top three in the points table.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles