Breaking News: These two players all set to make their debut as England announced their playing 11 against West Indies for the first test

The playing XI for the Lord’s Test against West Indies, starting July 10, has been announced with Gus Atkinson and Jamie Smith set to take their England Test debut. James Anderson will call time on his cricketing career after this match which marks his last.

Atkinson had already represented England in white-ball cricket, while Smith, who is still young, had appeared in 2 games before as well within the fifty over format. The 23- year- old is been chosen ahead of Jonny Bristow with Ben Foakes who were not in home during the defeat against India while playing away from home. Harry Brook, who was not available for selection throughout the Indian series due to personal issues has also made a comeback.

On English soil, Shoaib Bashir will play his very first game after impressing everyone in India. The first time after last year’s Ashes heroics, one of England’s heroes in that series, Chris Woakes is back in the team. The pace will be set at this match out by Anderson who will be retiring from international cricket.

England’s playing 11 for the first test:

Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes (C), Jamie Smith (wk), Chris Woakes, Gus Atkinson, Shoaib Bashir, James Anderson.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles