Breaking news: Respiratory Infection Forces Kusal Perera Out of T20Is,Niroshan Dickwella called up as replacement

The Lankan Lions are all set to take on the Bengal Tigers in a multi-format series. The two teams will be up against one another in a three-match T-20 series.

Ahead of the series, the Sri Lankan team has dealt with another blow as opener Kusal Perera opts out of the upcoming T-20 series due to respiratory infaction.

The Sri Lanka Cricket Board has announced Niroshan Dickwella as the replacement for the wicketkeeper. Dickwella was last seen on June 22, playing for Sri Lanka. He played his last Twenty20 in 2021 against England.

In their official statement, the Sri Lanka Cricket Board said, “Kusal Janith Perera, who was included in the T20I squad, will not take part in the series as he is suffering from a respiratory infection. Perera did not join the team, which left for Bangladesh yesterday. The Cricket Selection Committee has named Niroshan Dickwella in place of Kusal Janith Perera. Dickwella will join the team tomorrow.”.
In Sri Lanka’s previous T20 series against Afganistan, Perera played the final T20 match for the Lankan Lions, in which he scored a duck, although the Sri Lankan team won the series.

This is not the first change in the Sri Lankan team for this series. Earlier, opener Pathum Nissanka was also ruled out due to injury, and Avishka Fernando was named as his replacement.

Apart from this, Captain Wanindu Hasaranga is also set to miss the first two matches of the series due to the ban imposed on him by the ICC.

Srilanka squad for Ireland series Wanindu Hasaranga (C), Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Binura Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, and Dilshan Madushanka.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles