Breaking News: Pakistan’s 18-Member Squad Revealed for Ireland and England Tour

Pakistan has announced an 18-member squad for the upcoming series against England and Ireland. The announcement also included the inclusion of three players who were not part of Pakistan’s recent series against New Zealand. The players are Salman Agha, Haris Rauf, and Hasan Ali. 

Young pace bowler Zaman Khan and leg spinner Usama Mir have been dropped from the sidelines.
Both players were part of the recently concluded New Zealand series, and their chances of making it into Pakistan’s T20 World Cup squad are very slim.

Pakistan has also dealt with injuries before this series, as players like Rizwan, Azam, and Irfan have been dealt with injuries in the New Zealand series. While Rizwan and Irfan have niggles, Babar Azam suffered a grade A tear. All three players have been asked to report to the NCA.

A official press release was given from the Pakistani board after the declaration of the squad, which reads, “The squad encompasses a robust top-order featuring Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, and Usman Khan; an effective middle-order with Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Muhammad Irfan Khan; versatile all-rounders in Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, and Salman Ali Agha; a pace battery led by Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, and Shaheen Shah Afridi; and the spin prowess of Abrar Ahmed.” 

The release further added, “We understand Usama and Zaman will be disappointed, and they should be, as they must be looking ahead to the tours of Ireland and England. They are quality cricketers and have long careers ahead of them. They need to continue to focus on their cricket so that they are available if required.”

Pakistan’s squad:
Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usman Khan

Ireland series:

May 10: First T20I, Dublin
May 12 Second T20I, Dublin
May 14: Third T20I, Dublin

England series:

May 22: First T20I, Leeds
May 25: Second T20I, Birmingham
May 28: Third T20I, Cardiff
May 30: Fourth T20I, London

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles