Breaking: India Women’s Squad Named for Bangladesh T20Is

RCB’s leg spinner Asha Shobhna and Mumbai’s Sajana Sajeevan earned their maiden call-ups for team India for their T-20 series against Bangladesh.
Leg spinner Asha Shobhna was in the headlines after she picked up her first fifer in the WPL against the UP Warriors. 

Shobhna finished the WPL as the second-highest wicket taker of the season, picking up 12 wickets at an average of 15.12. 

Sajana Sajeevan, on the other hand, grabbed the headlines for her last ball six against the Delhi Capitals in the opening match of the WPL. She also registered scores of 24, 22, and 30 to show consistency with the bat lower down the order.

The onus will also be on Shreyanka Patil, who ended the WPL as the highest wicket taker of the tournament in spite of missing two matches due to injury. The offie picked up four wickets in the final, helping her team win their first ever WPL trophy.

India will be captained by Harmanpreet Kaur, with Smriti Mandhana being appointed as the vice captain of the side. This series also marks the start of Team India’s preparation for the T-20 World Cup, which is scheduled later this year.

India squad for Bangladesh T20

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Dayalan Hemalatha, Sajana Sajeevan, Richa Ghosh (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Radha Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Amanjot Kaur, Shreyanka Patil, Saika Ishaque, Asha Sobhana, Renuka Singh Thakur, Titas Sadhu

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles