BCCI Announces End Of Iconic 4-test Match Border-Gavaskar Series, Details Inside

The coming Australia tour of India will be the final of the usual four-Test series as part of the Border-Gavaskar series, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said on Friday.

“This will also be the last edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, which will be a 4-match Test series feature.”

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been a four-Test series since 2003/0 when India toured Australia; the 2010/11 competition was a two-Test series. Five Tests were last played in a series in 1991–1992.

The Men’s FTP cycle for 2023–2027, which includes two sets of five-match series for the Border–Gavaskar Trophy in the next ICC World Test Championship cycles, was revealed by the ICC in August of this year. The FTP states that during the 2023–25 WTC cycle, Australia would host India for the first five-match Border–Gavaskar series, followed by a reverse visit during the 2025–27 cycle.

Additionally, the BCCI released the squad for the first two matches in a four-match Test series against Australia starting on February 9. Due to a thumb injury, Rohit missed India’s series victory over Bangladesh in December. He will be captaining the test team.
Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, two batsmen who have played for India in shorter formats, may play in their first Test against Australia after being selected for the team.
Rishabh Pant had several wounds in a vehicle accident last month, and Jasprit Bumrah, battling a back injury, wasn’t including the squad. The Test squad’s decision to include Ravindra Jadeja is contingent upon his fitness.

INDIA SQUAD FOR FIRST TWO AUSTRALIA TESTS: Rohit Sharma (capt.), KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles