Afghanistan Asia Cup squad announced; Mohammed Nabi to lead

The 2022 Asia Cup will start on August 27 and end on September 11. The Asia Cup 2022 will include a total of 6 teams.

Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan are the five teams that have been officially confirmed to compete. Prior to the competition, a qualifying round will be held, with the victor claiming the position of the sixth team. Sri Lanka will host the Asia Cup in the UAE in 2022. There will be 13 matches overall in the event. India is the tournament’s defending champion.

Afghanistan Cricket Team Have Played 9 ODI Games In Asia Cup So Far. In these matches, they have won only 3 and faced defeat in 6 games. On the other hand, The winning ratio of Afghans in the T20 format is impressive in comparison to ODI one. Here they have played 3 matches and won 2 and lost one out of it.

However, year by year Afghanistan cricket team has improved themselves and in the upcoming Asia Cup, they can be the biggest danger to any giant team.

The squad for Asia Cup is as follows: Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Afsar Zazai (WK), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Rashid Khan and Samiullah Shinwari.

Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Sharafuddin Ashraf are the three players who are part of the team as reserves.

India and Pakistan have already announced their 15-member squad for the multi-nation tournament.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles